Global Coffee Observatory · 2026 research cycle closed
Evidence record frozen 11 September 2026. Comparative producer-price results are under independent validation.
Every origin counts its exports.
Almost none accounts for the farm gate.
Can you find out what a coffee farmer was paid?
Fifty-one countries grow the world's coffee. Explore who grows what, when the harvests move around the planet, and what each country lets you see of the price its growers received.
How to read the ratings A row carries a rating only when a dated document is on file for it. A row that has been researched and then withheld, because the evidence chain does not close, is shown as held rather than as unchecked: those are different findings and the map keeps them apart. An origin with no rating at all has not done badly: it means no row on it has a dated document on file yet. A benchmark price is what growers were offered; the farm-gate row asks what they actually received. The Grower price layer covers both of those rows at once, and a country can stand at a different point on each. Where they differ the country is drawn at the furthest-along of the two, in this order: a published rating, then held, then reviewed without a determination. A cell marked reviewed has been searched and closed for this cycle without a rating: the evidence found, the decisive blocker and the condition that would reopen it are all recorded. The 2026 research cycle is closed and the evidence record was frozen on 11 September 2026: all 306 cells across the 51 origins were reviewed to a defined release status. Held cells, reviewed cells and the one unresolved rating dispute are outcomes of the method, not signs of an unfinished build. Comparative results drawn from the 102 producer-price cells are separately under independent validation. That is a finding, not unfinished work, and it is deliberately not converted into a rating merely because the search is over. Colombia is the current example: its benchmark row carries an unresolved rating dispute, where the evidence supports competing states and neither has been adopted, while its farm-gate row was reviewed without a determination. Disputed outranks reviewed, so it is drawn as disputed.
All 51 origins
The same data as the map above, in one static table. Production is in thousands of 60-kg bags, shown as k for thousand and m for million. Production is USDA's 2026/27 forecast for the 25 origins USDA names separately and FAO's latest actual for the rest; the source column says which. A final count appears only when all six audit rows have been settled.
| Origin | Production 60-kg bags | Source | Harvest | Species | Research | Count | Farm-gate price | Benchmark price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Angola | 126k | FAO 2024 actual | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Bolivia | 384k | FAO 2024 actual | May–Aug | Not separately reported | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Brazil | 71.9m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | May–Sep | 66% Arabica / 34% Robusta | Determinations on record | — | Held, evidence pending | Held, evidence pending |
| Burundi | 115k | FAO 2024 actual | Mar–Jul | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| Cameroon | 496k | FAO 2024 actual | Species/region dependent | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| Central African Republic | Withheld | Under review | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| China | 1.90m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Oct–Mar | Arabica only | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Colombia | 13.4m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Apr–Jun + Sep–Dec | Arabica only | Rating dispute on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Rating disputed, unresolved |
| Congo (Kinshasa) | 1.10m | FAO 2024 actual | Regional/species dependent | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| Costa Rica | 1.20m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Nov–Mar | Arabica only | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| Cote d'Ivoire | 1.30m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Oct–Feb | Robusta only | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| Cuba | 100k | FAO 2024 actual | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Dominican Republic | 414k | FAO 2024 actual | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Held, evidence pending | Reviewed, no determination |
| Ecuador | 350k | USDA 2026/27 forecast | May–Aug | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Held, evidence pending | Reviewed, no determination |
| El Salvador | 542k | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Oct–Mar | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| Ethiopia | 12.1m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Oct–Jan | Arabica only | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Gabon | 2k | FAO 2024 actual | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Ghana | 12k | FAO 2024 actual | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Guatemala | 3.26m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Oct–Apr | 96% Arabica / 4% Robusta | Determinations on record | — | Held, evidence pending | Reviewed, no determination |
| Guinea | Withheld | Under review | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| Honduras | 6.03m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Oct–Apr | Arabica only | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| India | 6.14m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Nov–Mar | 25% Arabica / 75% Robusta | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Indonesia | 11.4m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Regional, near year-round | 12% Arabica / 88% Robusta | Determinations on record | — | Held, evidence pending | Reviewed, no determination |
| Jamaica | 109k | FAO 2024 actual | Aug–Mar | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| Kenya | 950k | USDA 2026/27 forecast | May–Aug fly + Oct–Jan main | Arabica only | Determinations on record | — | Held, evidence pending | Held, evidence pending |
| Laos | 500k | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| Liberia | 11k | FAO 2024 actual | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Madagascar | 826k | FAO 2024 actual | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Malawi | 187k | FAO 2024 actual | May–Sep | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| Malaysia | 1.50m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Not yet mapped | Robusta only | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| Mexico | 4.13m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Oct–Apr | 86% Arabica / 14% Robusta | Determinations on record | — | Held, evidence pending | Reviewed, no determination |
| Nepal | 8k | FAO 2024 actual | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| Nicaragua | 2.44m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Oct–Apr | 94% Arabica / 6% Robusta | Determinations on record | — | Held, evidence pending | Reviewed, no determination |
| Nigeria | 30k | FAO 2024 actual | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Panama | 105k | FAO 2024 actual | Nov–Mar | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Held, evidence pending | Reviewed, no determination |
| Papua New Guinea | 800k | USDA 2026/27 forecast | May–Aug | Not separately reported | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Peru | 4.78m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Apr–Aug | Arabica only | Re-adjudication required | — | Held, evidence pending | Reviewed, no determination |
| Philippines | 475k | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Held, evidence pending | Held, evidence pending |
| Rwanda | 297k | FAO 2024 actual | Mar–Aug | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Held, evidence pending | Held, evidence pending |
| Sierra Leone | 37k | FAO 2024 actual | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| Tanzania | 1.60m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Apr–Dec by region | 53% Arabica / 47% Robusta | Determinations on record | — | Held, evidence pending | Reviewed, no determination |
| Thailand | 900k | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Not yet mapped | Robusta only | Determinations on record | — | Held, evidence pending | Held, evidence pending |
| Timor-Leste | 159k | FAO 2024 actual | May–Sep | Not separately reported | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Togo | 363k | FAO 2024 actual | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| Uganda | 7.16m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Multiple regional seasons | 16% Arabica / 84% Robusta | Determinations on record | — | Published, not reproducible | Held, evidence pending |
| United States | 64k | FAO 2024 actual | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Held, evidence pending | Reviewed, no determination |
| Venezuela | 500k | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Vietnam | 32.5m | USDA 2026/27 forecast | Oct–Mar | 3% Arabica / 97% Robusta | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Yemen | 442k | FAO 2024 actual | Oct–Jan | Not separately reported | Determinations on record | — | Reviewed, no determination | Held, evidence pending |
| Zambia | 147k | FAO 2024 actual | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |
| Zimbabwe | 10k | FAO 2024 actual | Not yet mapped | Not separately reported | Reviewed, no determination | — | Reviewed, no determination | Reviewed, no determination |