Coffee Monitor: Ethiopia

Independent evidence on Ethiopia's coffee economy · Seattle, Washington

The Record

What was said, who said it, where it can be checked, and whether an account sits behind it.

A figure given in a speech and a figure published in a release are different objects. The first can be repeated. Only the second can be checked, revised, disaggregated, or built on.

Documentation status is not a judgment about truth. An official statement is evidence. It is simply not a reproducible statistical account, and the difference matters when the number is going to be quoted for a year.

Ethiopian fiscal year 2025/26 (2018 E.C.)

13 entries · reviewed 14 September 2026
Standing entry Provenance, no state change

Roughly 80 per cent of Ethiopia's smallholder coffee area requires rehabilitation or replanting.

Speaker or institution
Widely cited; the recoverable source is a November 2017 guidebook funded by USAID and written by Dalberg Advisors
Venue
Repeated across programme and policy documents since
Exact source
Renovation and Rehabilitation for Resilient Coffee Farms: A Guidebook for Roasters, Traders and Supply Chain Partners, November 2017. Funded by USAID's Bureau for Food Security and written by Dalberg Advisors on behalf of the Sustainable Coffee Challenge. It is the recoverable source of the area formulation, reporting approximately 440,000 of 562,000 hectares of Ethiopian smallholder coffee land as requiring rehabilitation or replanting.
Reporting period
2017 baseline, still cited in 2026
Definition used
The guidebook estimates rehabilitation and renovation need across 19 countries including Ethiopia, and does publish its general method: national census data, statistics from coffee boards, literature from coffee research institutions, reports from programmes, Global Coffee Platform viability reports, and interviews with country experts, with assumptions informed by expert opinion and comparable situations where data were unavailable. It does not disclose the Ethiopia-specific inputs or the calculation behind the 440,000 of 562,000 formulation. The share is an area ratio, not a tree count or a yield measure, and the two are not interchangeable.
Coffee Monitor note
440,000 of 562,000 hectares is approximately 78 per cent, consistent with the figure being subsequently expressed in round terms as about 80 per cent. No subsequent public national estimate replacing that baseline was identified in the materials reviewed. The guidebook itself notes that it made assumptions informed by expert opinion where country data were unavailable, which is a candid statement about the class of estimate it is.
The pattern is the one the farmer-share row also records. A number enters circulation from a single undisclosed calculation, is repeated for nearly a decade across documents that cite each other rather than the original, and becomes harder to check the more often it appears. Logging it does not dispute the figure. A national rehabilitation programme continues to be discussed against a baseline first published in 2017 without a disclosed derivation and without a subsequently published national replacement estimate.
Correction history
None.
10 September 2026 Officially stated

Ethiopia earned more than 3.1 billion dollars from coffee exports in the completed fiscal year, and coffee exports generated about 3.3 billion dollars over the preceding 17 years combined.

Speaker or institution
Ministry of Agriculture, as reported
Venue
Fana Media Corporation
Exact source
"Ethiopia's Coffee Is Having Its Biggest Economic Moment Yet," Fana Media Corporation, 10 September 2026. The report attributes the earnings figure to the Ministry of Agriculture. It gives no source for the 17-year comparison.
Reporting period
Completed fiscal year, and the 17 years preceding it
Definition used
None stated for either figure. No product scope, no earnings basis, no nominal or real treatment, and no source for the 17-year series.
Coffee Monitor note
The second figure cannot be reconciled with the government's own published series, and the arithmetic is not close.
3.3 billion dollars spread across 17 years implies an average of about 194 million dollars a year. The National Bank of Ethiopia's 2024/25 annual report gives coffee exports of 2.6651 billion dollars free on board for that single year, which is roughly 13.7 times the implied annual average and about 81 per cent of the entire claimed 17-year total on its own. The National Bank's published 2024/25 figure is consistent with the Ministry's own statement of 2.65 billion dollars for that year on 25 June 2026, and cannot readily be reconciled with the later 17-year-total claim.
So the comparison being drawn, that one year has nearly matched two decades, rests on a 17-year total that the same government's published accounts contradict. Coffee Monitor has located no basis for the 3.3 billion figure and no definition under which it would hold. The current-year figure of 3.1 billion is a separate matter and remains without a written account, which is what the coverage index records.
This entry logs the claim as made. It does not assert what the correct 17-year total is, because establishing that would require the published series this record exists to ask for.
Correction history
None.
8 September 2026 Answered, this record

The 60 percent producer-share figure attributed to Minten et al. was adopted from TechnoServe rather than calculated in that study, and producer shares vary materially with international coffee prices.

Speaker or institution
Bart Minten, International Food Policy Research Institute
Venue
Personal communication
Exact source
Email to Coffee Monitor, 8 September 2026, cited with written permission given 12 September 2026. Put in response to standing question five.
Reporting period
Applies to the figure as published, not to any current year
Coffee Monitor note
This settles a provenance question rather than a price one. A 60 percent farmer share for Ethiopia has circulated widely, most recently through a published scoping study citing Minten et al. 2019. The chain runs back one step further than the citation suggests, to a TechnoServe figure from 2014, and the author of the intermediate study says so directly.
Two consequences follow. A figure now more than a decade old is being cited as current, and the same author notes that producer shares move materially with world prices, which is precisely the period over which world prices have moved most. Neither observation makes the figure wrong. Both make it uncheckable in the form it is usually quoted, which is what the farmer-share row records.
The trail has since been followed one step further. Later scholarship identifies the TechnoServe source as a two-page business case for sustainable coffee production in Ethiopia, dated 2013 or 2014 and produced with IDH. The standalone original has not been recovered, and no denominator, period, geographic scope or calculation has been located for it.
Later TechnoServe materials do not supply a national figure either. A 2016 service-delivery study covers a specific intervention with about 9,000 farmers across seven cooperatives. The Coffee Initiative final report gives programme outcomes rather than a national share: participating cooperatives' export prices rose by 1.54 dollars per kilogramme, and supplying farmers received a premium of 0.43 dollars per kilogramme over local farm-gate prices. A later Nespresso report discusses raising growers' share of export price without stating one.
That distinction is the finding. A great deal of work has measured and tried to raise Ethiopian farmer income over more than a decade. None of it produced a recurring public account of what growers received nationally, which is a different object and the one this row asks for. The object still to retrieve is the original two-page document and its calculation.
Correction history
None.
4 September 2026 Logged, no state change

A qualitative study of the Sidama, Gedeo and Guji coffee belt reports dated, located, product-specified farm-gate prices, each one a single respondent's recollection.

Speaker or institution
Yacob Cheka Hidoto, Rift Valley Institute
Venue
Ethiopia Peace Research Facility, Knowledge for Peace series
Exact source
The Political Economy of Coffee in the Sidama, Gedeo and Guji Belt, Southern Ethiopia, Rift Valley Institute, September 2026. Research advisor Dereje Feyissa. UK government funded. Licensed CC BY-NC-ND 4.0.
Reporting period
Fieldwork September to October 2025
Definition used
Eighty-three respondents across nine woredas in Sidama, Gedeo, Guji and West Guji. No sampling frame, no stated price-collection method, and no indication that any figure is other than a single respondent's recollection.
Prices reported
Bensa Daye red cherry at 8 birr in the 2020 harvest. Bensa Daye smallholder price not exceeding 0.59 US dollars per kilogramme in December 2024. Guji red cherry rising from 30 to 160 birr within the 2024 season. Guji sun-dried at 200 birr in October 2023 and above 500 birr in October 2025. Yirgacheffe sun-dried at 130 birr in December 2024. Aleta Wondo red cherry at 110 birr in October 2025. Dilla pre-harvest payments at 250 birr for red cherry in October 2025.
Coffee Monitor note
Ethiopia's farm-gate row does not move. These are dated, located and product-specified, which is more than most sources offer, and they are still single recollections gathered without a sampling frame or a stated method. A qualitative study is not a recurring public series and cannot be reconstructed by a reader, so it fails the publication test as a price source however useful it is as reporting.
It is logged because of what it demonstrates rather than what it measures. The prices vary by a factor of five within one season in one zone, which is precisely the variation a first-sale record would have to capture and which no national figure currently reflects. The report is evidence about the state of the evidence base.
Correction history
None.
14 August 2026 Published, this record

Ethiopia's new coffee traceability system can identify the plot a lot came from, which is what Europe requires. It is not established that it records the price paid to the grower, which is what Ethiopia needs.

Speaker or institution
Wondwossen Mezlekia
Venue
Addis Fortune, Commentary (subscription)
Exact source
"Europe Needs the Plot, Ethiopia Needs the Price," Addis Fortune, 14 August 2026
Reporting period
ECTMS technical handover, March 2026
Definition used
GIZ has stated publicly that the system provides end-to-end traceability from farm to export, developed by the Coffee and Tea Authority with GIZ support through the SUVASE programme and built under contract by a local software company. That baseline is now established. What remains unresolved is whether the system records the first economic transaction: a price, a value, a persistent grower identifier, or any transaction event at all. That is standing question three, now with the Authority.
Coffee Monitor note
This entry opens a second front on the same question. Until now the obstacle to a farm-gate price series has been described as institutional. This system changes the arithmetic of the ask. A traceability layer that already reaches the individual plot, because a foreign regulator insisted on it, is the cheapest place a farm-gate price record will ever be built. If the system already captures a transaction price, the series exists in draft and needs only to be published. If it does not, adding the field is a far smaller undertaking than building the system was. Either way the question is now concrete enough to be answered in a sentence by the Authority, and it is logged as a standing question below.
Correction history
None.
14 August 2026 Published, this record

The world's coffee statistics are precise about what leaves the port and silent about what reaches the farm. Ethiopia is the clearest case, and the fix is a farm-gate record rather than a better export figure.

Speaker or institution
Wondwossen Mezlekia
Venue
African Arguments, essay
Exact source
"Ethiopia Counts Coffee at the Wrong End," African Arguments, 14 August 2026
Reporting period
Ethiopian fiscal year 2025/26 (2018 E.C.)
Coffee Monitor note
Logged because it puts the argument to an international readership rather than an Ethiopian policy one. Free to read.
Correction history
None.
11 August 2026 Officially stated

A Ministry of Agriculture programme sets a coffee yield target of 900 to 2,100 kilogrammes per hectare across 1.15 million hectares, on a ten-year timeline.

Speaker or institution
Ministry of Agriculture
Venue
Programme announcement, 11 August 2026
Exact source
Reconciled against earlier official statements by Idriss Linge, "Ethiopia's Coffee Yield Target Doubled in Length. The Revenue Target Did Not Move," Ecofin Agency, 13 August 2026.
Reporting period
Ten years from announcement
Definition used
Not stated. The yield range is given without a baseline year, a measurement method, or a statement of which plantings it covers.
Coffee Monitor note
Two discrepancies sit inside official statements made seven weeks apart, and neither has been explained. First, the same 900 to 2,100 kilogramme target was given on 27 June by the Authority's Director General with a five-year deadline of 2031 and a six billion dollar export target attached; the deadline has now doubled to ten years while the revenue target has not moved. Second, the Authority's claimed production increase, from 500,000 to 1.5 million tonnes, is more than double the United States Department of Agriculture's 2025/26 estimate of roughly 700,000 to 730,000 tonnes, and it is inconsistent with the Ministry's own figures: 1.15 million hectares at 900 kilogrammes per hectare implies about 1.04 million tonnes, not 1.5 million. Logged here because it is a clean example of the pattern this site exists to record. Targets are announced, restated with different terms, and never reconciled in writing.
Correction history
None.
18 July 2026 Published, this record

The export record announced to Parliament measures what coffee earned at the border and says nothing about what reached the grower; the Authority's planned Coffee Fund will only close that gap if it pays at the farm gate.

Speaker or institution
Wondwossen Mezlekia
Venue
Addis Fortune, op-ed (subscription)
Exact source
"The Missing Half of Ethiopia's Coffee Plan," Addis Fortune, 18 July 2026
Reporting period
Ethiopian fiscal year 2025/26 (2018 E.C.)
Coffee Monitor note
Logged for the record because it is the argument entering the Ethiopian policy press. The full case is in the policy brief.
Correction history
None.
12 July 2026 Officially stated

The Ethiopian Coffee and Tea Authority is preparing a Coffee Fund to cushion price shocks and help replace ageing coffee trees.

Speaker or institution
Ethiopian Coffee and Tea Authority, as reported
Venue
Addis Fortune, reported by Bezawit Huluager
Exact source
"Authority Pins Hope on a Coffee Fund as Trees Grow Old," Addis Fortune, 12 July 2026
Reporting period
Fund in preparation; design not yet finalised
Definition used
The reported design triggers relief through the buyer. A proposed ten-cent-per-kilogramme levy in the same article is attributed to a rural-finance researcher rather than to the Authority. The article reports that the fund's management arrangement is not yet decided.
Coffee Monitor note
The state is now proposing the instrument this site has argued for. The open question is where the trigger sits: a fund that pays through the buyer does not, by itself, put money in the grower's hands or generate a farm-gate price record. A fund that pays direct to verified grower accounts does both. That distinction is the whole of the brief.
Correction history
None.
7 July 2026 Officially stated

Ethiopia earned 3.1 billion dollars from coffee exports in 2025/26, up from 2.65 billion dollars the previous year.

Speaker or institution
Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed
Venue
House of Peoples' Representatives
Exact source
Statement to the House of Peoples' Representatives, delivered on the closing day of the fiscal year, 7 July 2026. Widely reported at the time. No written close-of-year release from the Authority has been located.
Reporting period
Ethiopian fiscal year 2025/26, closing 7 July 2026
Definition used
Not stated. The figure is presented as coffee export earnings. It is not specified whether it is gross export value, receipts repatriated, contract value, or shipped value, nor whether it is free on board.
Coffee Monitor note
The figure has been reproduced across the international press within days. No written close-of-year release from the Ethiopian Coffee and Tea Authority has been located, and until one appears the figure carries the attribution of a parliamentary statement rather than of a statistical publication. When a written release appears, this entry moves to Published figure, and the coverage index moves with it.
Correction history
None.
25 June 2026 Officially stated

Ethiopia has exceeded its three billion dollar coffee export revenue target for the current fiscal year, against 2.65 billion dollars earned in the previous one.

Speaker or institution
Agriculture Minister Addisu Arega
Venue
Social media post, reported by Fana Media Corporation
Exact source
"Ethiopia Exceeds $3 Billion Coffee Export Revenue Target," Fana Media Corporation, dateline Addis Ababa 25 June 2026, published 2 July 2026. The report attributes the figure to a social media post by the Minister. No written release from the Ministry carrying the figure has been located.
Reporting period
Ethiopian fiscal year 2025/26, then still open
Definition used
Not stated. No product scope, no earnings basis and no revision status are given. The report does not say whether the three billion is provisional or final, nor what coffee products it covers.
Coffee Monitor note
Announced with the fiscal year still open, which is normal practice and not a criticism. It is logged because the sequence matters: a record is declared, a figure follows, and the written account arrives late or not at all.
One detail in the report does check out. The 2.65 billion dollars the Minister recalls for the previous year is consistent with the National Bank's 2024/25 annual report figure of 2.6651 billion dollars free on board. The prior-year recollection is therefore corroborated by the Bank's own series, while the current-year claim it is measured against has no written account behind it at all.
Correction history
None.
31 March 2026 Officially stated, in writing

Export volume for coffee and oilseed declined against the same period of the previous fiscal year, while the balance of payments recorded significant improvements in exports, particularly coffee and gold.

Speaker or institution
National Bank of Ethiopia, Monetary Policy Committee
Venue
Press release, MPC Meeting No. 6 (meeting held 21 March 2026)
Exact source
Press Release, Monetary Policy Committee Meeting No. 6, National Bank of Ethiopia, 31 March 2026. The volume statement appears under Growth and Economic Activity; the export improvement appears under External Sector.
Reporting period
First eight months of FY 2025/26
Definition used
None given for either statement. The volume decline is reported as a direction of travel with no tonnage, no percentage, and no stated baseline. The export improvement is reported inside a balance of payments passage without a coffee-specific figure.
Coffee Monitor note
Two statements about coffee sit in the release, in separate sections, covering the same eight months. Coffee and oilseed export volume is reported as lower than a year earlier, while exports, particularly coffee and gold, are reported as improving. Those statements are consistent with a stronger price contribution, but without coffee-specific volume and value they do not establish how much of the change came from price rather than quantity. That is why the monthly table remains a standing question. It was requested from the Bank on 17 August 2026 and reviewed on 16 September with no response received; see question four.
Correction history
None.
Standing since 2020 Unrated, source not admissible

The Ethiopian Coffee and Tea Authority and the National Bank of Ethiopia operate a joint daily coffee price desk.

Speaker or institution
ECTA and the National Bank of Ethiopia
Venue
Standing institutional arrangement
Exact source
No admissible source on file. The arrangement is described in Beyond the Coffee Record, SSRN working paper 7142558 (2026), which is Coffee Monitor's own work and therefore cannot serve as evidence for a Coffee Monitor rating. No institutional publication of the desk or its series has been located.
Reporting period
Daily, 2020 to present
Definition used
Unknown. The internal desk described here is a different object from the published minimum registration price, which is adjudicated separately on the coverage index under public reference price. Neither carries a rating at present.
Coffee Monitor note
This entry carries no rating, and the reason is worth stating plainly. The only source Coffee Monitor holds for the desk is Coffee Monitor's own working paper. Under the evidence standard, our own material is never admissible as evidence for our own claim, so the row stays unrated until an institutional document is located. That is the same test applied to every origin in the Observatory, and it is applied here against our own strongest argument.
Why it still matters
If the desk operates as described, a daily price has been collected by the state for six years and publishing it would require no new capacity, no new budget, and no new institution. That is a claim, not a finding, until a document exists. It is standing question two.
Correction history
None.

Standing questions

6 standing

Six questions are put to the record and left open until they are answered in writing. Each names an institution that could close it in an afternoon, and each asks for a document rather than an opinion. What was asked, of whom, on what date, and what came back is logged in public, including when nothing comes back.

Read the standing questions and the log →